Gundam: A Guide to Timelines in Anime

Mobile Suit Gundam, a mecha meta-series and a staple ofJapanese Culture spanning across anime, manga, novels, games, theme parks andso much more. Beginning in 1979 with the first series known as ‘Mobile SuitGundam’, the Gundam franchise has continued to expand and become a giantmulti-verse that can be somewhat daunting to people who don’t know where tobegin.

The main source of confusion for newcomers is that there are 8 distinct timelines each with their own series and storyline, the good thingabout this though is that they’re all unrelated to each other. This essentiallymakes your choice of what to watch come down to the timelines rather than theshows themselves, but with most timelines only containing one series plus anOVA or movie its quite simple to choose.

The timeline that will confuse people most is the very firstone the Universal Century (U.C) timeline, this contains multiple series, OVA’sand movies and can be difficult to understand what order to watch things in. Toconfuse things even further only the series and some movies where created inchronological order, other OVA’s and movies may have been created recently butset during or before other series in the timeline.

This is the chronological order of the U.C timeline:

U.C. 0079 Mobile Suit Gundam Series 43 Episodes (42 English version) 1979
U.C. 0079 Mobile Suit Gundam: The 08th MS Team OVA 12 Episodes 1996
U.C. 0079 Mobile Suit Gundam MS IGLOO: The Hidden One Year War OVA 3 Episodes 2004
U.C. 0079 Mobile Suit Gundam MS IGLOO: Apocalypse 0079 OVA 3 Episodes 2006
U.C. 0079 Mobile Suit Gundam MS IGLOO: The Gravity Front OVA 3 Episodes 2009
U.C. 0080 Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket OVA 6 Episodes 1989
U.C. 0083 Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory OVA 13 Episodes 1991
U.C. 0087 Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam Series 50 Episodes 1985
U.C. 0088 Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ Series 47 Episodes 1986
U.C. 0093 Mobile Suit Gundam: Char’s Counterattack Movie 1988
U.C. 0096 Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn OVA 7 Episodes 2010-14
U.C. 0123 Mobile Suit Gundam F91 Movie 1991
U.C. 0153 Mobile Suit Victory Gundam Series 51 Episodes 1993

While the U.C timeline does include a range of manga andnovels which are mostly adaptations and some with new stories, they have not beenincluded in the list so to avoid confusion and with many of them not receiving officialreleases outside of Japan it just makes sense not to included them. Compilationmovies have also been left out as they are just retelling’s of series inmovie format.

The other timelines are a lot easier to understand andfollow given that most only include one series with an accompanying OVA ormovie:

Future Century –

F.C. 60 Mobile Fighter G Gundam Series 49 Episodes 1994

After Colony –

A.C.195 Mobile Suit Gundam Wing Series 49 Episodes 1995
A.C.196 Mobile Suit Gundam Wing: Endless Waltz OVA 3 Episodes 1997

After War –

A.W. 0015 After War Gundam X Series 39 Episodes 1996

Correct Century –

C.C. 2345 Turn A Gundam Series 50 Episodes 1999

Cosmic Era –

C.E.71 Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Series 50 Episodes 2002
C.E.73 Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Destiny Series 50 Episodes 2004
C.E.73 Mobile Suit Gundam SEED C.E. 73: Stargazer OVA 3 Episodes 2006

Anno Domini –

2307-2312 AD Mobile Suit Gundam 00 Series 50 Episodes 2007-09
2314 AD Mobile Suit Gundam 00 the Movie: A wakening of the Trailblazer Movie 2010

Advanced Generation –

A.G. 115, 140-142, 164, 201 Mobile Suit Gundam AGE Series 49 Episodes 2011

Misc –

Super Deformed Gundam (Various Series,OVA’s, Movies)

Gundam Evolve (OVA 15 Eps, 2001-07)

Superior Defender Gundam Force (Series 52 Eps, 2003)

SD Gundam Sangokuden Brave Battle Warriors (Series 51 Eps,2010)

Model Suit Gunpla Builders Beginning G (OVA 3 Eps, 2010)

Gundam Build Fighters (Series 25 Eps, 2013)

Co-Written by Kurunandan Jain

Hopefully this has been useful to those looking for a wayinto the Gundam meta-series, feel free to ask us any questions about ourfavourite series and timelines or even what can of style each timeline has, allquestions are welcome.

*This article has been written with the anime series in mindand all manga and novels have been omitted, bare this in mind when reading anduse as a guide on what order to watch the anime in and not an entire guide toeverything Gundam.